Complete Newbie - Clusters and Clamps and Control (Oh No!)

Discussions for scratch builders. For the enthusiast that builds from the ground up. Tell us what you've built and what projects you working on in the space race.

Moderator: Moderators

dmeeze
Parachute Packer
Parachute Packer

Complete Newbie - Clusters and Clamps and Control (Oh No!)

Postby dmeeze » Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:46 pm

Hi there. This thread is where a complete newbie asks lots of super dumb questions and you all nod quietly, backing away, or facepalm.

So intros. I did electronic engineering back in the dark ages of the 20th Century at QUT, alongside a bunch of aerospace/avionics students, so i'm in no way naively asking these questions. My marks in control systems subjects were... umm... well, i graduated. :) So When i watch spacex launches, I can seriously appreciate how hard almost every detail of them is.

My first ever model rocket was helping my kids fly a pair of fly-it-launch-it A motors at one of QRS' open days. At that meet, they won the raffle of an SCR 56er kit and we flew "Christmas Rocket" (kids chose colours and names) at QRS a few times on the included B6's.

Unfortunately on the weekend Christmas Rocket made a particularly powerliney landing (below), so I am now in search of a project. Obviously i can build a kit, or work through the fun of simming and scratchbuilding something cool, but I started to wonder about making a SpaceX F9 or F9Heavy. (Obviously not as a first project, just as a maybe something interesting!). Which led to learning about clustering, and control, and so on.

So.
1) I understand there are some rules around control/guidance for model rocketry in general. I'm well aware of the reasons and would never ever want to build tech which could be misused, but i'm finding it hard to find any clear documentation on where the official lines of "don't" are. I understand this is a delicate question and I am 100% on the side of not ever building misusable tech.