Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Discussions about techniques for rocket building. Leave your tips and tricks to making the perfect rocket.

Moderator: Moderators

~RR~
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: QLD

Postby ~RR~ » Thu Sep 13, 2007 4:36 am

Scoop1261 wrote: Perfectflite MiniTimer for the sustainer ignition, with a specially constructed 9.6V NiCad battery for ignition duties.


Got any pic's of this? did you solder together 8 AA's?
Shane...
TRA # 11474

User avatar
Scoop1261
L3 Rocket GURU
L3 Rocket GURU
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Postby Scoop1261 » Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:00 pm

~RR~ wrote:Got any pic's of this? did you solder together 8 AA's?


It is 8 AA's soldered together in a semi circle that fits through the hatch and follows the curve of the inside of the airframe. I have a Tamiya plug on the end of the +ve & -ve wires that plugs into the charger and also the harness for the MiniTimer.

I have it wedged in place using little foam blocks to keep it from shifting during flight.

The MiniTimer & switch are mounted to the hatch cover for ease of wiring in the igniter.

I will take a piccy when I get a chance and post it here.
Why Limit Yourself?

AMRS #4 - L3 |TRA #11080 - L3 |MDRA #263

Impulse: A Whole Lot ..So much I've lost count!

~RR~
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: QLD

Postby ~RR~ » Thu Sep 13, 2007 8:32 pm

I have one of those timers (I think) I was planing on using a 9v battery (like in a smoke alarm) 35 grams compared to approx 240grams for 8AA's..
I take it theres not enough amps to fire up an AT motor. how would it go lighting a Estes E9 (the smoke alarm battery?)

User avatar
Scoop1261
L3 Rocket GURU
L3 Rocket GURU
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Postby Scoop1261 » Thu Sep 13, 2007 9:44 pm

It would easily light any BP motor....although I fail to see the need as BP is easily lit using using the previous booster motor.

I guess if you used an AP motor in the booster to a BP motor.....yeah the MiniTimer and 9V battery would work fine.
Why Limit Yourself?

AMRS #4 - L3 |TRA #11080 - L3 |MDRA #263

Impulse: A Whole Lot ..So much I've lost count!

~RR~
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1127
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: QLD

Postby ~RR~ » Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:04 pm

Scoop1261 wrote:I I fail to see the need as BP is easily lit using using the previous booster motor.


Was thinking a cluster of 2 or 3 x D12-3’s into a E9 and have the booster deploy a chute instead of tumbling using D12-0’s.
Thinking of a cheaper way to make a terrier type booster or at least a longer looking booster..

User avatar
jase
It runs on moonshine
It runs on moonshine
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: 43° South

Re: Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby jase » Thu Jun 13, 2013 7:32 pm

Sorry to rehash a necro thread...

Scoop - so the mini timer for staging says in the documentation that it will ignite FirstFires although reading through real life seems they might not...

Since you've had a play, and I can find bugger all else on the subject matter, do you think a single mini timer with a Duracell 9V would be able to light two FirstFires?

I've got one off Blake ages ago and haven't had a chance to use it, with g-switch...

Or, would you suggest using some type of ni-cad config?, or separate timers for each igniter?, potentially with ni-cad..?
Me and my rockets run on Moonshine.

User avatar
kopius
Elle3
Elle3
Posts: 2868
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Contact:

Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby kopius » Thu Jun 13, 2013 8:53 pm

Jase, I would look at a clust-o-matic which will def light multiple FF igniters. I have personally use one a number of times with great success.

Now I unfortunately can't say 100% success as a brand new unit a fewonths ago fired igniters as soon as the battery was connected. Fortunately they weren't installed in motors at the time as I was demonstrating the CoM use to someone.

So in saying that, I would still recommend a CoM, just test the unit well prior to using it in a live environment.
QRS Secretary

AMRS #3 L3 ACO
Life member of QRS

NAR L2 #98260

MDRA Member #0241

User avatar
jase
It runs on moonshine
It runs on moonshine
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: 43° South

Re: Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby jase » Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:50 pm

Well Hell! I'm sold...

http://www.whooshtronics.com/products-t ... matic.aspx

Looks like good kit :? Did you use the recommended 500mAh 3-cell LiPo?
Me and my rockets run on Moonshine.

User avatar
kopius
Elle3
Elle3
Posts: 2868
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Contact:

Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby kopius » Fri Jun 14, 2013 6:00 pm

I did, but most lipo's should work. Just test with some e-matches as a cheaper option
QRS Secretary

AMRS #3 L3 ACO
Life member of QRS

NAR L2 #98260

MDRA Member #0241

User avatar
cryoscum
STOP... Hammer Time The Prodigy
STOP... Hammer Time    The Prodigy
Posts: 1802
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 2:54 pm
Location: QLD, NSW & VIC

Re: Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby cryoscum » Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:37 pm

Would suggest you just test it before-hand. The e-matches won't fail (and, yes, you should be using e-matches, nothing else), but I would check the device as I have had more than one and you should check functionality before doing a flight. They're top-class pieces of equipment and once Ok'd is likely to last forever, but you should double check it before using it for a flight :) Do I need to say that again?

Cheers
N
AMRS L3 | NAR L3 | QRS 089 | MDRA 224
AMRS Technical Advisory Group

Total impulse for 2016: 32,458 Ns (thus far)
Total impulse for 2015: 84,231 Ns
Total impulse for 2014: 40,757 Ns
Total impulse for 2013: 62,927 Ns

User avatar
jase
It runs on moonshine
It runs on moonshine
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: 43° South

Re: Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby jase » Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:06 pm

Happy to differ to better judgement every day of the week, particularly when it is repeated, repeatedly...

...it's just that mini timer docs/specs say 'hell yeah, plenty of juice' but real world/other threads say otherwise. Likewise with CoM, maybe will work maybe won't...

Be better to test system with e-matches first, then firstfires, mini timer alone, then with clust-o-matic. Agreed test, and test again way to go. Do some combos and see how it goes.

Goal is to air-start at least two HPRs simultaneously.

I watched both promo clips including Blake's super-cool I to 3 x G's but still mildly perplexed :roll:

Getting there though :)
Me and my rockets run on Moonshine.

User avatar
kopius
Elle3
Elle3
Posts: 2868
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Contact:

Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby kopius » Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:15 pm

In case Nic or I didn't mention it earlier, make sure you test a CoM before using it in a real situation!!

You still need a trigger device, the CoM just lights the igniters when the trigger is received.
QRS Secretary

AMRS #3 L3 ACO
Life member of QRS

NAR L2 #98260

MDRA Member #0241

User avatar
jase
It runs on moonshine
It runs on moonshine
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 11:06 pm
Location: 43° South

Re: Cosmodrome Aerobee Hi

Postby jase » Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Lol might have mentioned it...

Bloody hell, now looking at PET2+...could be a good alternative?
Me and my rockets run on Moonshine.


Return to “How to's”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests