need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Discussions about techniques for rocket building. Leave your tips and tricks to making the perfect rocket.

Moderator: Moderators

PJR
Rocket Crew
Rocket Crew
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:37 pm
Location: Albion Park/Wollongong

need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby PJR » Sat Mar 23, 2013 1:38 pm

I have been watching some videos and a couple of people use DD from the same tube, no separate av bay. One guy said he had a AARD to release the main chute. Dose anyone know how this system works, thanks for any information

Phil

User avatar
OverTheTop
It's only money...
It's only money...
Posts: 2635
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:20 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby OverTheTop » Sat Mar 23, 2013 1:55 pm

TRA #13430
L3
"Everybody's simulation model is guilty until proven innocent" (Thomas H. Lawrence 1994)

Space Mark
Juicy Fruit
Juicy Fruit
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:57 am
Location: Perth, WA
Contact:

Re: need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby Space Mark » Sat Mar 23, 2013 4:46 pm

AARD, Cable cutter and Tender Descender seem to be the main things in use. Do you have Modern Highpower Rocketry 2?
TRA 13845 - Level 3

User avatar
kopius
Elle3
Elle3
Posts: 2868
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland
Contact:

need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby kopius » Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:02 pm

I have used a tether in a number if flights and when setup correctly they work fantastic. There is a thread about this somewhere but need to find it
QRS Secretary

AMRS #3 L3 ACO
Life member of QRS

NAR L2 #98260

MDRA Member #0241

PJR
Rocket Crew
Rocket Crew
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:37 pm
Location: Albion Park/Wollongong

Re: need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby PJR » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:54 pm

OverTheTop wrote:Check out this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3706&p=43845&hilit=cable+cutter#p43845


Thanks OverTheTop in the video he talks about the main chute acting like a drogue chute. Wouldn't you then have to tie the altimeter and battery to the main chute?

Space Mark I do have Highpower Rocketry 2. I will have to pull it out again and have a check for the cable cutter

Phil

User avatar
OverTheTop
It's only money...
It's only money...
Posts: 2635
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:20 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby OverTheTop » Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:01 pm

In the video he talks about the main chute acting like a drogue chute. Wouldn't you then have to tie the altimeter and battery to the main chute?

The cable for the igniter in the cable cutter could be run up the risers from the avionics bay somehow I guess. I think it is explained somewhere in the videos on the site for the device IIRC.
TRA #13430
L3
"Everybody's simulation model is guilty until proven innocent" (Thomas H. Lawrence 1994)

Space Mark
Juicy Fruit
Juicy Fruit
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 11:57 am
Location: Perth, WA
Contact:

Re: need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby Space Mark » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:07 pm

I've seen people running the wiring down the middle of kevlar/nylon braid/tube for cable cutters and beacons and such.
TRA 13845 - Level 3

Passaretti
Mars...........................✓ N5800.........................✓ Next Mission ... ###,###
Mars...........................✓ N5800.........................✓ Next Mission ... ###,###
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:31 am
Location: Long Island, NY

Re: need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby Passaretti » Thu Mar 28, 2013 11:53 am

PJR wrote:I have been watching some videos and a couple of people use DD from the same tube, no separate av bay. One guy said he had a AARD to release the main chute. Dose anyone know how this system works, thanks for any information

Phil


See the illustrations at the following link: http://www.eurocketry.org/forum/german/ ... php?t=1237

They depict quite well your typical recovery system set up for single-end (tube) dual-deployment using an ARRD. In theory, you could use any actuated release mechanism.

Hope this helps.

PS - This is the identical set-up I used on my BALLS flight last year.
Mike Passaretti, TRA 5369

PJR
Rocket Crew
Rocket Crew
Posts: 267
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 7:37 pm
Location: Albion Park/Wollongong

Re: need help with dual deployment from same tube?

Postby PJR » Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:58 am

Thanks Passaretti great article on the AARD cable cutter

Phil


Return to “How to's”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest