Newbie: Make your own rocket from scratch or buy a kit?

Discussions about techniques for rocket building. Leave your tips and tricks to making the perfect rocket.

Moderator: Moderators

Kae
Rocket Onlooker
Rocket Onlooker

Newbie: Make your own rocket from scratch or buy a kit?

Postby Kae » Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:42 pm

Hi all,

I am a total beginner here, and am interested in doing some rocketry with my 10 year old son.

I see some 'make your own rockets from scratch' you tube clips etc, starting with cardboard, scissors, etc, and I also see the various options to buy a mostly pre fabricated kit and start from there.
The first option would seem more fun.

What would peoples advice be on this one?

Is it realistic for someone with no experience to follow a youtube clip, build a rocket from absolute scratch, and get a results that actual works?
Or would you recommend just beginning with a pre-fab kit, and working up from there?

Cheers,
Kae

OverTheTop
It's only money...
It's only money...

Re: Newbie: Make your own rocket from scratch or buy a kit?

Postby OverTheTop » Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:15 pm

Hi Kae, welcome to the forum!
You can try making a "scratchie" if you think you have the skills, and buy (or scrounge) the materials. Look up "swing test" to see if it is stable before you fly it. Parts are readily available from Australian Rocketry.

The advantage of buying a kit is all the parts are there, and probably a nice stet of instructions. Low power rocketry (LPR) is quite straightforward and doesn't need much in the way of tools, but an instruction set can be comforting during assembly when you start out. The kit also has all the relevant parts and of the correct size. It is also likely to be stable as designed, as a matter of safety from the kit manufacturer.

Kits come in different skill levels so if you are a bit ham-fisted you can select an easy skill level, but if your crafting skills are better you can go for the more challenging designs.