Looking for some information!

Melbourne Metro Rocketry Group

Moderator: Moderators

David5326
Rocket Onlooker
Rocket Onlooker

Looking for some information!

Postby David5326 » Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:16 pm

Good afternoon! I was just wondering if the wetlands area in Dandenong is still a good site to launch from? I'm new to the hobby and live about 10 minutes from that area. Is it public land?

Is MMRG still an active group?

Cheers!

The Wombat
Engineer
Engineer

Re: Looking for some information!

Postby The Wombat » Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:37 pm

The Wetlands is fine for small/medium stuff up to F power. (Remember to keep below 400 feet AGL.) Early afternoon is usually best as there is a lull in the wind while it changes direction. There are people who still fly there on weekends, however, all of the original mmrg guys have either dropped out, moved into pyro displays, or 'moved up' to Tripoli. AFAIK, the Wetlands are Dandenong council land, but it could be State. Either way, yes, it is public. If you are interested in learning more about rocketry, why not come along to one of the Tripoli meetings at Ashburton Uniting Church hall. For info, go to http://www.tripoli.org.au
TRA #11586

Well wadda y'know.... it IS rocket science!

OverTheTop
It's only money...
It's only money...

Postby OverTheTop » Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:38 am

Hi David,
Some of us have not "dropped out", but just don't get much time to go flying.

If you are looking at launching there sometime, put a note on this thread and see if anyone else wants to come along.
TRA #13430
L3
"Everybody's simulation model is guilty until proven innocent" (Thomas H. Lawrence 1994)

The Wombat
Engineer
Engineer

Postby The Wombat » Tue Jun 29, 2010 8:58 pm

True, but I did say "original".
P.S. Darren Young says to say Hello.
TRA #11586

Well wadda y'know.... it IS rocket science!

David5326
Rocket Onlooker
Rocket Onlooker

Postby David5326 » Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:28 pm