New member? Old hand!

Melbourne Metro Rocketry Group

Moderator: Moderators

stu
Parachute Packer
Parachute Packer

New member? Old hand!

Postby stu » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:26 am

Gday, I've been doing aero modeling on & off now for 30 years or so. In the second half of last year, some of my mates and there kids became interested in my rockets and what I do & subsequently went and bought there own rockets and launchers. Now there's 5 or 6 of us flying with 2 or 3 hoping to start in the new year. We've been flying once a month at the police paddocs, Dandenong & because there's now a group of us, we've been looking into starting a club. 1, so as to get insurance, 2, so I can get hep/guidance and a suitable launch site for HPR, and 3, to fly with others. At the moment our biggest problem is the council, to the point were, we're about to give up and fly unofficaly.

Untill recently, I/we were unaware of another club in melbourne. It was only buy accident that I discovered you guys.

So whats the go with MMRG. Do you have a launch site? & when/how oftern do you fly, Do you fly HPR? (it is the next step for me. To continue with model rocketry is like runnig in circles) and are you looking for new members? hope we can make something happen, the sport needs a boost in Victoria.

PK

Re: New member? Old hand!

Postby PK » Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:53 am

Get in touch with the Tripoli guys
http://www.tripoli.org.au/
Go to a launch, and see if you still think the sport needs a boost!

:-)

PK

stu
Parachute Packer
Parachute Packer

Postby stu » Mon Dec 27, 2010 12:48 pm

do you guys fly localy? i.e. eastern melbourne. at the moment we only fly low & med. power models and serpentine is a long way for some of the younger kids/familys. were all from SE melb. and would like to find a field out this way for low/med. models.

Brian
Rocket Flyer
Rocket Flyer

Postby Brian » Tue Dec 28, 2010 11:25 am

If locally means next-door!