Hi There from me & my son

Please introduce yourself here

Moderator: Moderators

camacd
Rocket Flyer
Rocket Flyer

Hi There from me & my son

Postby camacd » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:11 pm

My Son Harry and I have recently discovered rocketry. I bought him a ready to fly rocket for Christmas. After a few misfires and some frustration for a day or so, we worked out that the Estes ingiters were a bit dodgy and that you need a good battery to make them fire.
Anyway, we then went to a Qld rocketry launch day at Cedar Creek and learned about Thunda Down Under. We decided to try building out own rockets for the big weekend.
The rockets flew ok but after a few flights they were both damaged, and our learning curve continues. We are now building the next design, looking for more altitude, as well as reliability.
I need help with the mathematical side. I'm an engineer so I can grasp most concepts but I need to know where I can get the right formulae, what are the types of assumptions to be made, etc.
So I'm keen to chat to anyone who can help.
Cam MacDiarmid
"He who says it can't be done is liable to be interrupted by somebody doing it". - My Mum

Fadge
Rocket Flyer
Rocket Flyer

Re: Hi There from me & my son

Postby Fadge » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:57 pm

Welcome to the forum. You will find plenty of useful info here.

With regard to the maths, it is best to download a copy of Open Rocket, which is free. It is very easy software to use and you can create your rocket design and simulate flights with different motors.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
QRS # 109
TRA # 14178 (L1)

SpaceManMat
Astronaut
Astronaut

Postby SpaceManMat » Wed Apr 01, 2015 11:13 pm

Hi Cam welcome to the world of rocketry. With regards to Open Rocket you can find files for most of the rocket kits out there. http://www.rocketreviews.com/ is a good resource for simulation files and also pictures, flight logs etc. Keep in mind that Open Rocket will read RockSim files as well with few issues.
QRS: 124