Please introduce yourself here

Moderator: Moderators

Digit
Rocket Crew
Rocket Crew

Howdy from Ipswich!

Postby Digit » Wed Feb 24, 2016 9:08 pm

Hello All,

I'm Lachlan from Ipswich in QLD and I'm new to the hobby* (see below :oops: ). I have been obsessed with rockets since I saw the Apollo 13 film as a ten year old, then four years later after October Sky came out I checked google to see if building your own rocket was legal in Australia, I was surprised to see that model rockets were a thing!

I headed straight into Brisbane and purchased a kit, being a younger teenager at the time with no patience, modelling or painting experience I slapped the thing together quickly; poorly; and then must have put nearly a kilo of spray paint on it (with the nose cone in!).

I went and launched the rocket on my parents 2 acre property and it went up so high it was great, then it turned around and came back down as quick as it went up, hit the ground and was destroyed, try as the little motor might have there was no popping that nose cone out. Being disheartened by this I threw the whole lot in the bin and put the other motors in a sink of water as suggested.

Now here is the sad part... It's taken me just over 15 years to succumb to temptation and go out and buy a kit! I've picked myself up an SCR 'my first rocket' launch kit to get back into things.

Being a lot more mature now (read 4 Trades, a Wife and 2 children later) and actually being able to do nice work with my hands I've decided to get back into the hobby, but I want to learn properly and be part of a great community so I checked online for clubs in my area and have since found and applied to join QRS. I have aspirations to work my way through the clubs certification programs, involve my two boys once they're old enough and eventually progress to attempting building and certifying in high powered rocketry.
QRS:169
AMRS:108 (L2)

QRS Committee Member

Lister
Engineer
Engineer

Re: Howdy from Ipswich!