Please introduce yourself here

Moderator: Moderators

aardman
Rocket Onlooker
Rocket Onlooker

Hi Everyone

Postby aardman » Fri Aug 25, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi All,

My name is Bryan, and I've been lurking for a while but it's time to say hello! I'm a Mechatronics Engineering Student at UQ and I've be playing with the idea of building a rocket with a team of people to compete in the IREC competition in America (http://www.soundingrocket.org/what-is-irec.html). As a team, it would be great to hear your ideas and recommendations on how to best develop a rocket for this purpose.

My personal interest in the project will be the development of data recording hardware/software, moving on to (hopefully) some advanced control in the form of active stabilisation. If you've got some good resources or experiences with this sort of stuff, I'd love to hear from you.

I will be coming along to more of the QRS meets soon to start learning more, so I hope to see some of you there!

Cheers
Bryan!

High Impulse
Rocket Crew
Rocket Crew

Re: Hi Everyone

Postby High Impulse » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:06 pm

Hey Bryan, nice to see another UQ student getting into rocketry ( I myself am 4th year mech aero).

I'm sure some of the members on the forum will be able to give you some sound advice regarding the IREC competition.
I think some guys have played around with Active stabilisation too, so they might be able to chime in with that kind of stuff.

Regards,

Adam
L1: Callisto - H410VM

SpaceManMat
Astronaut
Astronaut

Postby SpaceManMat » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:51 pm

Welcome.

There's a couple of guys here that have looked into active stabilisation.

Not sure what your team looks like or their experience in rockets, areodynanics or materials/structural etc... some basic questions come to mind:
1. How big
2. How heavy
3. How high
4. What type of motor
QRS: 124
AMRS: 32 L2 RSO
Highest Altitude: 13,647 feet
Fastest Flight: Mach 1.55
Largest Motor: CTI 1115J530 IM
Current Project: X Wing

SpaceManMat