Minimum diameter 38 mm high altitude rocket - how to recover

Discussions on high/extreme altitude and mach busting rockets.

Moderator: Moderators

jez_tranter
Rocket Onlooker
Rocket Onlooker

Minimum diameter 38 mm high altitude rocket - how to recover

Postby jez_tranter » Tue Feb 12, 2013 9:47 pm

I am fairly new to rocketry and have recently launched my Rocketarium Kilter ARM kit rocket on D motors with much success.

However as you may expect I am now looking to my next project and the idea of fast, high altitude rockets is definitely attractive.

I have been considering the Public Missiles Cirrus Dart - mainly because it is relatively inexpensive but has the flexibility for me to begin with some smaller F and G motors but potentially could be launched all the way up to J motors. In my mind this seems like a good stepping stone for me to use to to get my TRA certs.

However I am a little stuck (concerned) with the recovery from high altitude launches with a minimum diameter rocket. Obviously I want this thing back if I am to spend all my hard saved rocket funds.

Can you guys give some advice on the best way to recover such a rocket?

I'm thinking that dual deploy would be the way to go - but not sure if there is enough room to fit the required electronics? I have seen some of the PML CPR 3000 systems but they seem to be too big for 38 mm?

Is a custom deployment system required - I'm not afraid of this as I am an electrical engineer by day - just need to be pointed in the right direction.

I'm pretty keen to stay with at least a main parachute as that is required for the TRA certs.

Any other comments/advice welcome.

Thanks

Jeremy

Lamp
Aged like a good scotch
Aged like a good scotch

Re: Minimum diameter 38 mm high altitude rocket - how to rec

Postby Lamp » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:57 am

G'day Jeremy, if you want to go with the dual deploy option, have a look at the Featherweight Raven altimeter and 38mm Av bay.... :wink: